What do you do when you feel "uncovered"?

PaperClip

The daddy's girl I am, I got a wake-up call this week from something that my dad said.... It's like I hear the words repeatedly in my mind. I cannot get them out of my head. He basically said that I'm almost ___ years old and I need a job. (I got laid off three years ago and I've been a full-time grad student since then).

It was the first time I truly felt "uncovered" as a single female. Spiritual/religious stuff aside, some of us know that the steps for a traditional church girl like me is to graduate from high school and get married. Anything over 25 is considered "old maid" status. You don't move out of the parents' home until marriage. Well, finally broke down and got my own place about nine years ago (single, live alone). No sign of a relationship as far as I can see/sense.

My parents will be married 40 years next month. My mom got married at age 20. She doesn't know what it's like to be out here alone with no husband, no covering. It's so lonely and so scary. It's so unstable. For the first time I feel like I don't have anyone to turn to...not even my father.

I have been praying about this so much. All I do is cry when I pray.

RelaxerRehab said:
The daddy's girl I am, I got a wake-up call this week from something that my dad said.... It's like I hear the words repeatedly in my mind. I cannot get them out of my head. He basically said that I'm almost ___ years old and I need a job. (I got laid off three years ago and I've been a full-time grad student since then).