what did i do wrong????

L.Brown1114

i was relaxing my aunts hair and this is my first time doing a relaxer ever! idk y she let me do it but when she asked i jumped at the chance. anywho she used the soft and lovely brand with 6x more strength. her hair came out hard and brittle :wallbash:. idk what i did wrong. i overprocesses on some spots accidentily but not on the whole head!

i wont be using any relaxer that says 6x more strength, nah....

i hope her hair turns out alright! keep us posted please.

Last edited:
the box said 6x more strength, i guess it was a protein relaxer so i told her to sit underneath a heating cap with the conditioner that came with it but it was still brittle

Maybe it was a bad relaxer? Had she used this brand before? Or was she trying something different? Perhaps too much protein and she needs to do a nice moisturizing conditioner. Just throwing out some ideas. I'm sorry it didn't go well.

Hmmm a protein relaxer sounds like it'd be a bad idea. Did her hair process at all/evenly? My knowledge of a relaxer is it's supposed to break the bonds of the hair, mixing protein into that process seems like a bad idea.

Try re-washing the hair & dc w/ a moisturizing conditioner to see if that helps. I'm sorry this happened L.Brown1114.

i would neutralize shampoo again, hopefully you did the first time, then do a deep moisture condish with some oils mixed into the conditioner. hot 6 oil is easy to find in beauty supply stores.

put a plastic cap on and sit her under a dryer for 20 minutes, or 30 if you have no dryer.

then style her hair in a low manipulation style, like a wet bun or twist. tie the hair with a satin scarf to keep the cuticles closed and flat and let it air dry.

She needs to wash and condition the hair again and perhaps PC. I would also recommend she keeps a rich moisturising conditioner on her hair for several hours.