Transitioning to natural without the BIG CHOP!

blkbeauty

Has anyone gone natural without doing the “BC”? I am growing out a perm and want to do exactly that, grow out my perm. It has been 7 months since I had my last perm. And my new growth is about 3 inches in growth now. I plan to keep waiting out until my new growth is about 7-9 inches and then cut the 4 inches of perm I currently have. The problem is my perm ends has started to shed.

Keeping that in mind if I continue in this method would the breakage of my perm ends carry up the root shaft and damage the new growth?

Hairlove and a few others have been transitioning for months. See if you can find some of her posts or pm her.
HTH.

[ QUOTE ]
blkbeauty said:
Has anyone gone natural without doing the “BC”?

[/ QUOTE ]

That question crossed my mind before!
ooo.gif

I don't think it will travel all the way up, it is probably just breaking where the two meet. I've been transitioning for about 6 months now and the main area of my hair that I try to focus on keeping moisturized is the new growth and where it meets the relaxed hair. But I've definitely had to change some of my products and methods....I've found the more I comb the more it breaks so I try to comb it less. It also depends on how you are transtitioning. I did the blow-dry thing at first but now it's getting warmer so I'm doing braidouts instead. I've noticed my hair not shedding as much. There's a lot of good info on here, do a search on transitioning, there should be many articles. Good luck
smile.gif

Former long (really long, LOL) transitioner here! I transitioned for two and a half years. My hair is currently past bra-clasp length (stretched), so I am proof that it is possible. I had my hair professionally pressed, and I got "occasional" trims as my natural hair grew out. I don't recommend my method to people unless it is done by someone who knows what they are doing. Good luck during your transition!!! (: