transitioners/ naturals help needed

deborah11

for those of u that have transitioned, did you do so without the help of a professional haircare stylist. i have been transitioning for 11 months and i have been doing it on my own. i have not been to a salon since i got my last relaxer 10/02. i have worn my hair in a protective style--phony pony for last 6 months and on this past sunday i pressed it and ot was pretty. i have noticed today that it is starting to revert at the roots. if i got it professionally pressed maybe it would be straighter but i am so afraid of professionals now and would rather go it alone and learn as i go along. i plan on transitioning for another 6-8 months. has anyone else transitioned for a long period of time without the aid of a professional? what was your routine? any problems/ damage to your hair? i plan on pressing no more than 2x a month and wearing my hair in protective styyles. thanks for your help.

Deborah11--What do you mean when you say 'revert at the roots'?

I transitioned for a long time (although I did not know that I was "transitioning")without much professional help because I was broke. I did not know anything about caring for my hair, but I usually kept my hair up. I simply had my stylist give me a good trim each time I went (every 6 months or so).

I'm pretty much transitioning without the "help" of a stylists. The first stylist I went to when I knew I was transitioning, didn't bat an all. All she said was that my hair was easy to straighten...and she did so. It came out nice and didn't revert (only 3 months in though).

I went to another stylist about a month ago (5.5 months in) and got a blowdry and curl and it also came out straight without reverting. So, yes, I'd have to say that a professional might be able to get your hair straight without it reverting.