To the Naturals and Transitioners...I have a question

shellzfoshizzle

This is my first time transitioning (I'm in the beginning stages...from relaxed to natural) and I have been on here reading all weekend and looking at naturals albums. Some of you ladies have awesome hair!

I just washed my hair and did a rollerset (air dry) and then wrapped it with my scarf. I think this will be my main style until the newgrowth starts to get really obvious and then I will start getting twists or a straw set.

I normally put oil on my hair and sometimes I will put a little grease on my scalp about 2x a week. My question is should I continue to "grease" or oil my scalp with the newgrowth? I know moisture and conditioning is key here, but I never hear any naturals saying that they grease their scalp....

Thanks.

I don't see anything wrong w. oiling your scalp. I don't use grease though. But if it works for you, then do your thing.:) I have always oiled my scalp and will continue to do so. :yep:

I don't grease my scalp, but I know there are some folks that do--if a routine is working for your hair, I don't see why you should stop (with the caveat that you shouldn't grease your scalp with mineral oil or petroleum based products unless you know for sure your scalp "thrives" of it). I do use a couple of grease products on my hair--and one does some mineral jelly (that's why I don't use it on my scalp).

I don't grease my scalp, but I co-wash every other day and give myself a scalp massage with WGO. Other than WGO and shea butter, my hair and scalp HATE oil.

i don't use greast but i agree that if it's working for you, keep on doing it. but i would stay away from "grease" with petros and mineral personally. there are several natural products that act and feel like grease texture wise, but have better ingredients. The main one that comes to mind is Asha's Sun Kissed...it smells like fruity candy too :D You could also use natural oils. unrefined coconut oil is great.