Time to BC!! Please help...

TemiLnd

Hello Ladies…
I need your help. I promised myself I would be doing my BC in the next few days (most likely tomorrow). I have been transitioning for 13 months in braids mostly and I am a little scared. Ok a lot. :freakout: I wana do this myself and not go to the salon.
So for all you past BCrs, help me prepare. I will be taking my braids out today.
Should I:
1. Wash and condition, then BC.
2. Wash, BC then condition.
3. Wet hair to see the line of demarcation and then BC.
4. Other suggestions…
I don’t know what order to do. I figure I’ll section my hair into 4 and BC each section at a time.
HELP PLEASE!!!

Good luck! I've seen that a few people have saturated their hair in conditioner to make it easy to distinguish between both textures.... not sure if they wash before or after though....

OT: Well done - 13 month transition! I'm almost 3 months post and doubt I can hold out for another 10 months before BC'ing!

I would soak your hair in water and conditioner and then BC. Your line of demarcation will be very clear and make the cut much easier. I self BC'd and that's what helped me.

Good luck and congrats!!

Well like you I did mine after coming out of braids. After I took them down I washed and conditioned then did the BC about a week later. When I finally did it I just wet my hair all over then parted my hair in sections and chopped as I went along. I cut all the straight hair off. You'll be able to see the line of demarcation easily. Good luck!

Thanks for starting this thread! I plan to BC in 3-4 months, and Im already looking for the best way to do it! good luck!

I would soak your hair in water and conditioner and then BC. Your line of demarcation will be very clear and make the cut much easier. I self BC'd and that's what helped me.

Good luck and congrats!!

Girl that mane is fierce....

Thank you ladies....