Throwing A Bridal Shower Properly

tuffCOOKiE

Hi Everyone!!

My sister is getting married in July and I need some ideas for a bridal shower. The bridal shower is going to be on Long Island, NY and it needs to be low budget. I'm the MOH, unemployed and the bmaids are, for the most part, college students (won't be able to pitch in a lot). So I have some q's for you:

Does anyone have any book recommendations? Ideas of their own? Ways to save $$$$? Is it OK to have the guests pay for their plate at the bridal shower?

TIA!!

Hey tuffCOOKIE,

I'm no expert. But from my past experiences with bridal showers, I wouldn't have the guests pay for their own plates. If money is an issue, I would consider having it at someones house, and cooking the food yourselves (bridal party). My friend got married in January and for her BS we bought decorations online (i'll look for the website). That saved us a lot of money. We also had her BS and bachelorette party on the same day, so we didn't have to get twice the balloons, etc. I know that technically the MOH is supposed to take care of the BS, but my mom and DH's mom helped A LOT with mine because my MOH was in college at the time as well. Don't be afraid to ask others who are close to your sister to help out.

I've never paid for my plate at a bridal shower and honestly, I would never pay for my plate at a shower. Why not have it at someone's home? Have a bbq, or a group of you cook the food yourself. It doesn't have to be catered.

If you can't afford to pay for everyone's meal, I agree you should have it at someone's house and offer finger foods.

How many people are you planning to invite?

About 35 people are invited but I would be expecting around 25. The reason why I can't have it at my house is because we're in the process of renovation but, I agree.. I might have to ask one of my cousins(bmaid) to have it at their home.. Is that intrusive to ask one of the bmaids to lend their house??