The dark side of braids/weaves...

SandySea

Hi ladies, especially those who wear braids/weaves. I know that many of us are using braids/weaves to protect and aid in growing our hair. However, for me, I have discovered a dark side to this. I've been wearing homemade braids for about 4 months now, and for the first time ever I'm finding myself not wanting to remove them because I like having more hair. I feel really guilty about this because I know that I should be grateful for the hair that I have, but I really like my look while in the braids. I'm even struggling with whether or not I should wear braids for my med school graduation because I want hair cascading from under my cap :look:. My whole purpose for the braids was to grow a couple more inches for graduation, which I have done. It's not like I don't have hair, but I've started feeling way too comfortable in these braids and I like the big hair, even if it's not mine. Are there any other women who find themselves enjoying extensions more than their own hair? Please post your comments.

That's a plus for me, because the more I like it, the more I get used to not dealing with my own hair, the longer I'll keep it in and the more dramatic my real hair growth will be when I take it out. And I'm talking about braids. Naturally, when you have two inches of new growth comes a time when it's like "OK, I gotta take these out" And if you get em redone, nothing wrong with that. As long as your are maintaining the health of your hair underneath you will benefit from the no/low manipulation of your own tresses. So go ahead and stay on the 'dark side'...