successful relationships require....?

LivingDol1

... a mutual respect for each other. right? i mean, clearly i'm no expert on relationships... but in my experience, i feel like this is something that has been lacking. the few relationships i've had has started with physical attraction... putting someone on a pedestal... being enamoured with an idea of being together and sparks and all of that. they weren't "deep".

i've never been friends with any of the guys i dated, prior to dating them. a guy approaches me. he expresses interest in taking me out on dates, getting to know me... but they're infatuated from the get go. based on my failed experiences, i feel like friendship is mandatory for a long lasting relationship.

so i find myself hesitant to date because i assume that the men who approach me are interested in me for superficial reasons and will never appreciate me as a friend/partner in crime/respected individual... i'm just "the girlfriend".

does that make any sense? married/exclusively committed ladies of the board, can you offer any advice? am i overthinking things? or is there something i'm overlooking?

thanks. :)

I think this makes a lot of sense. You're basically saying that when you meet someone, the lust/attraction can be the driving force and consequently cloud your vision of viewing your mate as a friend first. I think it's somewhat natural when you just meet someone. The attraction is the initial factor and then you have a tendency to already have visions of you and dude together. It's kinda tricky, I think it's great to see your potential SO objectively and as a friend first, but naturally those romantic feelings will play a huge part at first.