Stupid question for naturals

Perfexion

Is it possible to style your hair without stretching it? I'm still kinda new to natural and I've been surviving on pony puffs for the past 12 months. I want to try some more protective styles but all the twisting and untwisting is actually what's causing my ends to pop off. I tried banding but for some reason it doesn't stretch my hair as much as I'd like. I only get maybe an inch of stretching unless I keep re-banding it but that's really time consuming. I'm trying not to heat style at all. Are there any protective styling options for unstretched hair besides puffs? This is my hair type. I think it's 4b.

snapsho9t.jpg

sidesnapshot3.jpg

When I had your length I did tuck and roll styles (but my puff was a staple!). I understand your pain. Why are your ends popping off? Please give us your regimen. DO you moisturize and seal? DO you keep the protein and moisture balance? What are you using?

I'm living in puffs too. However, I normally Baggie my puff and wear a phony puff over it. I was having success with this, but during my wash session today I had a few knots in my crown. Not sure what went wrong this week.

When I had your length I did tuck and roll styles (but my puff was a staple!). I understand your pain. Why are your ends popping off? Please give us your regimen. DO you moisturize and seal? DO you keep the protein and moisture balance? What are you using?