Stretchers, please help!

classylayd

Hi Ladies,

I'm currently 17 week post going for 26 weeks with NO heat. This is my first time doing this. I was always told to leave my new growth alone and do not comb it. I usually wash my hair every two weeks and co wash once a week. I have noticed that when I don't comb it the amount of shedding and breakage is excessive. I tried this week for the first time to use my oil moisturizer on my roots, sealing it with oil, combing it through, then do like 6 braids. When I washed my hair after a week my roots were soft and the shedding and breakage was very minimal. Do you ladies think that for now it will work for me but in the long run it won't be good for my hair?

TIA

I tried low mani before and it was a HAM sandwich :nono: Some people just can't do low/no manipulation. Comb your hair and give her what she wants :giggle:

Tiffers u read my mind....Classy....I tried the whole no combing and it did not work out, my hair gets knots like crazy and knotted hair just comes out when I decide to comb, so just comb, but don't comb so much, I can't suggest anything, cuz I have to add heat to my new growth to get it with my relaxed hair and I actually get less shedding and breakage, see with me, if I wanted to go natural I would have to BC cuz my natural new growth and relaxed hair do not like each other, so I have to add that heat, but I only flat iron once a week or once every two weeks.

Our hair tends to writhe up like a sack of snakes! New growth and ends...for some reason. Sounds like your new growth needs to be gently combed. I'd comb the straightened ends one way and separately from the new growth...in 2 phases. Maybe you can use Stablizer Plus from French Perm, Detangler from Wanakee (hairoil.com), Rusk Smoother Conditioner or some other detangler/conditioner like Hawaiian Silky.