Splint ends should I...

AgapeQueen

Ok...I am a NEWBIE with split ends and I know that they are going to get worse if I ignore them. I cut my hair in Aug/2007 short & sexy. Now that I have some nice growth my split ends reared there ugly heads again...:wallbash: I don't want to cut my hair anymore, although I know I will have too...should I put something on them to slow down the process and let my hair continue to grow? Cut them myself? Or go the beauty salon and let them wack my head?

If you can I think that you should cut them yourself if you don't have anyone that you can trust to cut them. I am a newbie as well, I'm not sure but I think that I've heard that putting castor oil on your ends help. HTH.

I would say cut them off! Its all about health over length. Split ends will continue to split up the hair shaft and then you will have even more damage requiring even more hair to be cut off.

As far as doing it yourself... go for it if you think you can. I personally don't cut my own hair because I can't see in the back and I'm nervous it will be uneven then I'll have to end up cutting even more to even it out.

After you figure out what to do with you ends I would suggest asking some of the other more experienced ladies here (i'm new too) what to do to prevent the split ends... but i'm sure they will say something like moisture moisture and more moisture and seal with oil.

Why don't you do some dusting? Dusting is a method of clipping split ends, but not doing drastic cutting....hope that makes sense:perplexed. Alot of ladies dust here often like every month or so. Dusting should help you get rid of the split ends without seeing a major difference in your length. Maybe some of the dusting experts will chime in.