So my texlaxing is breaking my hair...

AlexLyons

Ok Ladies,

I'm gonna get right to it.

I've been texlaxing for 2 years now and though I love the increased thickness that comes with it, my hair is too hard to detangle, and is breaking pretty badly at the front, at the line of demarcation between the texlaxed hair and the relaxed hair. I've proteined more and moisturized less and I've moisturized more, and protein less,- nothing works :crybaby:. I at least didn't have this problem with relaxed hair. So I've decided to go back to relaxing- sure my hair will not be as lovely and thick- but hopefully it won't break as much either.

a)Has anyone ever experienced anything like this before (bad personal experience texlaxing that is ?)
b)Has any gone from texlaxed back to relaxed?

All help is appreciated.

Well, I guess the first thing is, what moisture/cd are you using? What kind? I ask because, I'm transitioning from relaxed to texlaxed, and I've found that moisture is really important in keeping the texlaxed hair blending properly.

Also, how much relaxed hair do you have left? Or, to put it another way, do you have enough texlaxed hair to possibly cut off the relaxed part, thereby fixing the problem you're having at the line of demarcation?

Like I said, I'm transitioning from relaxed to texlaxed, so I'm interested in the responses you get.

Sorry to hear about your problem with breakage! The first question that popped in my head is... What state is your hair in when you are detangling or combing? I never detangle or comb through my hair unless it has conditioner in it.

Hopefully more texlaxed ladies will chime in soon.

btw, have you tried co washing at all? i co washed when i was transitioning to texlaxed from relaxed.

Last edited:
I found that I use to loose a lot of hair if I wait too long to detangle. I just cant go that long. 3 days is my absolute limit or I begin to loose hair.

Last edited: