Short, relaxed, & damaged hair... I need a miracle!!!

afrocentric_soul

I know people say that everyone can grow hair, but I seem to be struggling with retaining length. My hair is relaxed and colored (a horrible decision). I want to say I am a 4d because my 4b doesn't look like these other 4b's...

I cut my hair off a year ago and since then have added highlights and a full color (6 months ago). I know my hair is growing, but the length is not there. I have been co-washing (Cantu) for 3 months, and using mega-tek and MN (mixed with vitamin E oil and carrot oil) for one and a half months. I do notice growth, but how do I protect my ends and retain this length? My ends are dry and often feel straw-like. I also have been very bad and use a flat iron almost everyday. I want to grow healthy hair but I also need my hair to look nice in the process. Any suggestions?

Attachments

• 023.jpg
    023.jpg
    70.7 KB · Views: 56
Put the flat iron down... When I was relaxed I flatironed weekly and I'm sure that was the main culprit of dry ends. I would say that's step 1. There are other ways to achieve stlyes rollersetting is good if u want sleek straight hair. I know others will have more advce for you. Good luck

ITA with the above. When I was relaxed, flat ironing frequently was killing my ends. Maybe try a good trim and a low/less frequent, indirect heat regime for a while? Possibly try baggying those ends with a good moisturizer before deciding to chop them off completely. Hopefully your hair with start retaining length this way.

Are you deep conditioning at all? I find deep conditioning weekly to be a lot more effective than co-washing. I would definitely stop flat-ironing everyday, especially if your ends are brittle from the color. Roller-setting is a better option. You should protective styles also.