Self Relaxer Question

newsgrl

I had a friend to apply a Phyto Index 1 relaxer last night...just a touch up. (My first time not relying on a professional.) Anyway, I followed the necessary steps after the treatment. I neutralized my hair, which I had to do 3 times before I saw a white lather. Two of those 3 times, I lost what I thought were nice chunks of hair. When I put the chunks together, it looked to be a bit larger than a silver dollar in my palm. I figured it was due to the fact that I really didn't comb through my hair for a few days before I got the relaxer. But for those of you who self-relax, is it common to lose so much hair while neutralizing? I know a lot of you do a protein reconstructor before you neutralize, which I didn't do because I was scared it would mess up everything. Is this why you do this step? Just wondering. I've never done an at-home relaxer before (I needed one really bad). Now, after I conditioned, I lost very few hairs. (But I still lost more than I thought I should have...about 10 hairs WITHOUT white bulbs on them to indicate shedding.)

Is this to be expected?

Well shedding, yes if you have a low manipulation regimen. I rarely comb my hair so when I do manipulate it, I have lots of shedding. As far as the ten strands of hair without the bulbs, where they shorter broken off hairs?

I do the protein conditioner (Affirm 5 in 1) right after rinsing the relaxer out because that is the 2nd step of the process. I also did a retouch once after not combing my hair a few days before and I thought I was going bald after retouching. Also, every now and then I have a few strands of hair come out.