Scolding from Stylist?

northernbelle

This is what happened.

I went to the JC Penney salon this morning for my regular eight week relaxer touch up. Those of you who have been reading my Hair Journal know that I have made some significant adjustments to the hair routine. Namely, I returned to using Kenra after having given Mizani a try for two years. I also no longer use petroleum and mineral-oil based hair products. I now use a wonderful vitamin-enriched hair oil from Treasured Locks.

Anyway, the stylist commented once again on the stress area at the crown. I've been battling that area for about ten years now. It breaks off, grows back, breaks off, grows back. Anyway, the stylist asked me if I am doing protein treatments at home. I told her yes, I am. She then commented that I may be doing the protein too often. Perhaps I do need to cool it with the Redken Rescue Force. I apply them every third shampoo, even though my hair seems to be responding well to these regular protein treatments. The coiff had gotten into bad shape.

FYI: I have two stylists - one who cuts, and who has also been applying special Redken Shots protein treatments - Stylist #2, and the other who applies the relaxer - Stylist #1.

Stylist #1 insisted that I use Mizani products, since she uses the Mizani relaxer. She said that Mizani is made for "our hair", and it all works together - relaxer and haircare products from the same line. I am currently using the Kenra line. My hair has never felt better. BTW: I used Mizani products for two years, and I wasn't impressed. I also told her I use a hair oil. She asked me what is in it. I told her, jojoba, vitamin E, and other good things. She said that I should bring in the products I am using so she could look at them.