Question about the ends of micros on natural hair

lilsparkle825

OK...so I am new to micros but not to box braiding. I tried a new style on my sister a few days ago, with the micros around the perimeter and a sew-in in the middle so I didn't spend 3 days braiding. her hair is SL-APL stretched, and i was hoping to just braid down maybe 3-4 inches like most people with micros and leave the rest loose, but that would have left her natural hair out, and since it is 4b it didn't blend with the added hair AT ALL. all the YT tutorials i watched had people with relaxed or transitioning hair, so they just took some AV gel or something similar and blended their real hair into the added hair.

is there a way to get around this that i didn't think of? i ended up just braiding to the ends of her real hair, but now it doesn't blend the way i had hoped. i wish i had pics, but i don't. please don't tell me next time i'm just gonna have to do braids all the way through. (althought MOOK...i see those wet n wavy braids...very nice!)

I don't think there is a way around it. If I were to get micros, I would just get them to braid all the way down past my hair. I wouldn't want my hair hanging out in the wind susceptible to damage. I think this is part of the reason why some shops don't recommend micros with straight hair to naturals if you have long hair. Even if you blowdry your hair before hand, it's still going to shrink back up once you wash it or if you're outside in humidity, rain, etc. if you don't braid past it. I had a shop recommend wet n wavy hair to me vs yaki for this reason. They said it would blend better with my hair. You would be able to see my texture through the straight hair once I washed it. I've even had this happen with other types of braids too. The smaller the braids, the less likely it will happen too.