Question about pressing hair

Savgal

I'm new, yall. So bear with me.

Is pressing hair damaging. I want to go natural for healthy scalp reasons, but I also like the look of relaxed hair. On a certain natural hair board, pressing is seen as the ulitimate sellout sin, so I wasn't even going to try to ask this over there. If I pressed my hair a few times a month, would that be more damaging on my hair than a relaxer? Does anyone know any relaxed ladies who regualarly press their hair? Does their hair look healthy and is it growing.

Hi Savgal /images/graemlins/wave.gif. Just wanted to say welcome. My hair is relaxed and I have no experience with pressing hair. I'm sure some will answer your questions soon. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Hi Savgal,

Welcome to the board! /images/graemlins/smile.gif I don't press my hair, but there are others here who do and will be willing to help you. /images/graemlins/smile.gif

Hi there,
I am kinda new here too, but I am totally addicted to the point where I look forward to waking up in the morning to see all the new posts.....but anyways, ABOUT PRESSING, my best friend has natural hair and she has been getting it pressed for around 15 years, and her hair is GORGEOUS! She has(4a) hair down to her waste, and it has really worked well for her. Besides pressing her hair she does not use a lot of heat on it besides that, so that may also be a factor. I hope that I have been some help....try not to become obsessed with the board like I am /images/graemlins/grin.gif ......good luck

Well I can't say if one is better than the other or more damaging than the other. I get my hair pressed maybe once every two to three months (or special occassions). I believe HEAT is damaging within itself. But occasional use of it, is okay. I have not had any MAJOR problems with having my hair pressed. I think my styist knows how much heat I need and she definitely prepares my hair when I do get it pressed.

hth,

-lee