PSA for Coconut oil users

naturalmanenyc

I am new to moisturizing and sealing with oil so forgive me if you have already experienced this.

I started using coconut oil (Nutiva organic extra virgin) as my sealant of choice. This weekend on a trip I noticed that my hair was stiff from the time I left my dad's house until I was in the car and had warmed up for a few minutes. I did not figure it out for a few minutes.....but finally realized that the coconut oil I use in my hair is solid at colder tempuratures.

It was not a huge deal to me since the stiffness was gone within a minute or so of the car warming up but it did take me a few minutes to realize what had happened to my bouncy self rollerset hair.

I am new to moisturizing and sealing with oil so forgive me if you have already experienced this.

I started using coconut oil (Nutiva organic extra virgin) as my sealant of choice. This weekend on a trip I noticed that my hair was stiff from the time I left my dad's house until I was in the car and had warmed up for a few minutes. I did not figure it out for a few minutes.....but finally realized that the coconut oil I use in my hair is solid at colder tempuratures.

It was not a huge deal to me since the stiffness was gone within a minute or so of the car warming up but it did take me a few minutes to realize what had happened to my bouncy self rollerset hair.

Extra virgin coconut oil is my favorite oil, but I only use it during warmer temperatures/months, to avoid what you've described. If it's "solid" in the bottle, then I use extra virgin olive oil instead, my "second favorite." I live in warm/hot Texas, though, so I use coconut oil most of the time.

Last edited:
LOL at your PSA:grin:-I guess it hasn't been cold enough here which is a good thing because I stay slathered in Nutiva EVCO head to toe. That stuff is addictive