PLease advise me (hair color question)

Straighthoodtea

I am 100% natural. I am however looking to lighten my hair color to a blonde so I can experiment with color rinses and have a bit of fun. I do not want to lose my curl pattern. I understand that it will loosen slightly because bleach will technically damage the hair. HOWEVER. I want to know if it's possible to lighten my hair slowly over time (I mean SLOWLY) by using a bleach and a 10 volume developer. I know 10 volume is normally used to deposit color. But can't it light my hair 1 level? Would if be possible to lift my hair 1 level like once a month or once every 6 weeks until I hit the color I'm looking for? That would give me some time to nurse my hair to health in between bleaches.

Is this possible? Any professionals, can you help me figure this out?

I am not a professional so you aren't speaking to me. But your hair is so pretty. I do hope you don't do this.

If I lighten it slowly it wont do anything to my hair. I just want to know if 10 volume developer will help me lighten it. I may just have to experiment and report back. Oh well. If something happens I can just grow it back.

I hope you get an answer. I plan to bleach my hair later this year after I have a good amount of henna on it because I know it will turn orange/gold. I didn't know what I was doing last time and got that effect by accident so I would like to know how to do it properly this time. I will try to keep this thread bumped for you.