PEEVED with Alter Ego customer Service re: linange relaxer!!!

beana

Okay, so i just ordered the linange shea butter relaxer from bluebeez.com I ordered the no-lye version because i have a very sensitive scalp.

I'm reading the ingredients and they are listed as:
Water, mineral oil petrolatum, cetearyl alcohol, propylene glyco, shea butter, sodium hydroxide, polysobate 60, laneth-15, cetyl alcohol, peg (150) steerate, steareth 20, peg (60), lanolin, hydroxypropyl trimonium, vegetable protein, fragrance.

the directions also mention mixing with the activator (guanidine carbonate).. Typically no-lye is calcium or lithium hydroxide with a guanidine activator. i have never known sodium hydroxide to pass as "no-lye".

I called the customer service number provided on the label because i'm extremely wary of using this now. A woman picks up and i ask her if she has the ingredient list to their linange no lye relaxer... shes asks if i'm a professional, i say "no, but i'd like you to confirm the ingredients on the label"..

She gets an attitude "Mami, this is a salon product and only professionals know where to get this. anything you have is a fake."

I say: " Well its sealed..." she interrupts, "Well how else are they gonna make it look real?!"

I said: "Well the number provided is real because i was able to reach you."

She continues: "I'm not a lab tech or anything, all i know is that its a chemical and i wouldn't use it if i were you because you dont know whats in it."

I had to cut this convo short because my blood was starting to boil, i asked to speak to a manager and no one was "around"...:angry2: Even if she has limited knowledge about the product, i still dont think she handled the situation well at all.

Last edited:
You know most of the time they do that, tell you you have to buy from a distributor, Kerastase I'm looking at you....