On the verge of brain damage....Help!!!!

latebloomer

Hi,

As i'm typing this i'm at work beating my head to a pulp as it is itching me to the point of insanity!!!!

I put my head in a full weave and i usually do have an itchy and flaky scalp caused by dermatitis. i have been transitioning to natural since the 5th Sept 2008 as my sister had the same condition but hers has seem to stop since she transitioned. I find it difficult to style my hair when its all out so i thought putting a full head of weave would be good for growth and would allow me less manipulation of my own hair.

I have only had this weave in for about a week and its already itching me like crazy, it still looks good and i wanted to keep it in for a month or so, but i dont know if i'll get that far.

Has anyone got any tips for keeping the scalp underneath moisturised and combatting itchiness...

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE I need your help the people at work think i'm either possesed or that i have some medical disorder the way i'm bashing my head. I'm on the verge of hearing bells and having little birds fly around my head, feels like im gonna knock myself out in a minute.....lol

LOL, I definitely can relate. My very first weave was exactly like that. Except I couldn't brave it like you are, and I undid it within 2 days. I've got my third weave in now, it's been in for a week now. It had started itching (not too badly), so I washed it this weekend and made an attempt to deep condition.... it's definitely subsided.

Did you try removing the alkaline coating of that hair before sewing it in? I think that's what causes a lot of the itching.

LOL, I definitely can relate. My very first weave was exactly like that. Except I couldn't brave it like you are, and I undid it within 2 days. I've got my third weave in now, it's been in for a week now. It had started itching (not too badly), so I washed it this weekend and made an attempt to deep condition.... it's definitely subsided.