Nobody told me tea rinse feels like protein!!

Lava27

Wowsers! :blush::blush: Just prepooed and washed and rinsed my hair with black tea before my DC. This is my first time tea rinsing and I was hoping to combat shedding. But I was not prepared for this BRICK HARD feeling though!!

Honestly my hair feels like I just mixed Aphogee 2 step + emergencee + Dudley's DRC all together and put on my head.:wallbash::wallbash: BRICK I tell yell! Scared the Heck outta me! I left the rinse on about 3 min or so in the shower and then rinsed it. I'm also trying out Banana Brulee Condish for the first time tonite, so hoping my softness will return. Anyone else get this feeling after washing out a tea rinse???

Tea has tannins in it, doesn't it? So it has something in common with a lot of the Ayurvedic powders like Henna - which largely acts like a protein.

Oh wow Urban! Thanks for that. I know that tea does for sure have tannins in it. So these tannins are also in the Ayuverdic powders?

So the final verdict is VERY soft hair!:grin: That Banana Brulee is GREAT! Not sure why it's not more hyped. I think it's mainly due to this condish, but it could be the tea as well. Anyway, I definitely will tea rinse again, but for me it is very much like a protien treatment. My hair feels waaaaay thicker, which is soo odd. Good odd, but something im not used to achieving with one time product use.

Also, it's very shiny. I definitely think the tea did this. The color also looks a bit tinted, a bit brownish/red?? Is this normal? I thought if anything it would make your hair darker, but I'm ok with this. Anyway, all is good. But beware some ladies, if you are NOT looking for a protien treatment feel, you may wanna watch it with the tea rinsing. I'm happy with this thick hair though. We'll see how my hair acts the rest of the week! :yep:

Oh yeah...my waves ( i don't really have many curls, but I have waves in my newly "texlaxed area" are more defined...cool :) )