NIGERIANS w/ long, relaxed hair?

Okay, so I'm a newbie to posting (longtime lurker) and I'm approaching this with caution. I hope I don't offend anyone (don't know why I would) by isolating a group in the title. :hide:

That said, I was wondering if there were any nigerians on the board with relaxed hair that's past SL. Now, the reason I ask this is not because I doubt that it exists (I DO NOT doubt that it exists. I've been a lurker here long enough to be educated against the misconceptions that many have about AA hair not being able to grow long:naughty:, and being nigerian and/or 4a/b is no different!) I am only wondering because I was just looking at a post and I saw Sonce's hair (ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS) but noticed that it was natural. I am about 10 weeks post and I'm considering transitioning. I'm this (::pinches thumb and index finger) close to going natural.

I suppose I should ask the question of 4a/b's in general (although I know that it is possible for a nigerian to have a diff texture..just speaking generally from my observations), but I'm also wondering how many nigerians who have had success w/ their hair on the board are relaxed vs. natural.

Despite the title, all constructive thoughts/opinions are greatly welcomed and appreciated :grin:!

Jess

You should open up your nationalities, just due to the sheer number. It is so funny because I'm natural and I have this conception that relaxed hair grows faster. Why would Nigerians have a different texture???? This is coming from a Cameroonian.

PS I have numerous Nigerian relaxed friends with thick apl, sl hair that dont even have a regimen

Yep. Myself and both my sisters have below apl hair-it was long both natural and relaxed.
To be honest I think hair length is a product of good hair care practices and texture. My siblings and I all have medium to thick hair which I believe retains length a little easier than fine hair. I have a friend with very fine hair who cant get it to reach her shoulders.