Newbie to well...Everything! [A Bit Long]

Bretagne

Hey guys,

I am brand new to this whole hair care thing. This is my first year away at college and I decided that I would dye my hair (wrong idea). Anyway I did it and then dyed it back about 2 months later and the back of my hair fell out.

Now I know it will eventually grow back but this experience made me realize how fragile my hair is. My mom wants me to cut the back of my hair off and get a relaxer but of course I am hard headed and I think the hair that I have left in the back is salvageable and I can wear hats and scarfs for the time being.

I've been lurking on the forums for a few weeks and I've been trying to process all this information but I do not know where to begin. I want to stop getting relaxers all together (or maybe once or twice a year) and I need a whole new hair care regimen. At college I use:
Garnier Fructis: Color Shield Shampoo and Conditioner
ORS: Hair Mayonnaise
ORS: No Flakes No More
DOO GRO Stimulating Growth Oil
Fantasia Frizz Buster Serum

I was also hoping to buy a new flat iron and new products to use with it. Right now I use:
Conair Infiniti
Tresemme: Heat Tamer Spray
ISOPLUS: Pressing Oil

Here are a few pictures of a hot mess that I call my hair:
hairdecember222008001.html
Hair-December222008001.jpg

Hair-December222008002.jpg

Hair-December222008003.jpg

Hair-December222008006.jpg

So my main objective is just to get my hair as healthy and as long as possible. I also still want to wear it straight without a relaxer. I just wanted to thank you girls in advance and I'll continue doing random searches through out the forum.

:)

Brittany

I think you have a lovely hair texture, you could read about some of our members who've done the BC and learn how to take care of it, your coils look nice and thick.
Whatever you decide, welcome!!!

check out the stickies, click on favorite stickies, and then click on the newcomer's guide. Also, my blog:
fromshorttolong.blogspot.com