Newbie...protein conditioner

NeduGRL

Hello! I am new here and I am SO glad I found this board. This past summer, I became interested in taking care of my hair by myself because I was tired of the hairdressers. My hair is in pretty good shape, so now I am working on maintaining it. Okay, so right now I am using Pantene Relaxed and Natural Shampoo and conditioner. My mom has this Protein Therapy Conditioner from TCB and I used it twice this week. I was wondering I can use this conditioner every time I wash or will it make my hair brittle?

A protien conditioner should not be used too often as it can make your hair brittle. I usually do mine about once every 4 weeks. I follow mine up with a moisturizing conditioner.

Hi NeduGrl...Welcome to LHCF!
wave.gif

Hi, and welcome!

As a relative newbie myself, I have learned so much re: hair care in a short period of time.

I concur with dontspeakdefeat: be careful with protein conditioners. They can be counterproductive if over-used.

Have you tried any of the moisturizing conditioners, like Humetco by Keracare, or Kenra Deep Penetrating Moisturizer?

northernbelle

No, I haven’t used any other conditioners but the TCB and the Pantene one. I am looking for a good moisturizing deep conditioning treatment, though. Do the ones you recommended work well for you?

Hi, NeduGRL!

I have not used the Keracare Humetco, but it receives raves from many members of the LHCF. I have used, however, the Kenra Deep Moisturizing Conditioner. In fact, I used it for the first time last week, and it was HEAVEN! My hair was very dry, I suppose from over-use of protein conditioners, and simply, not using the proper conditioning techniques. For instance, I was not deep conditioning, and the conditioner I *was* using was the three minute variety - certainly not enough to moisturize dry, relaxed Afro-Caribbean hair.

The Kenra Deep Moisturizing Conditioner made my soft and more manageable, and I have had much less breakage.