New to group! Need all types of advise!!

TazzGirl

Hello ladies, so glad I found 5-year old daughter and I both need support, Not even sure were to start. Me: 45yrs, last relaxer Oct. 07, trying to grow it out. nap length w/ lots of layer, goal: below shoulder, natural hair, but I'm a director at work, image is important. Cincinnati does not have a lot of stylist versed on natural professional styles. Currently, at shop once a week blow dry, flat iron smooth and curl. My dauther: 8" thick natural hair, but breakage all around edges, super slow growing, Oh she does swim once a week, I rinse, wash, and condition her hair right after, and put it in what I think are not very tight braids. She loves swim class hard to make her stop. Help!! products, process, etc. What is with monostat and the baggy think. Oh I have a drawer full of drug store products.

Hi TC,
Welcome to the board I'm a newbie as well. The only advice I can offer is to do a search on the board, I'm pretty sure you will find all the answers to your questions. I know that wasn't the answer you are looking for, lol but that's all I got for you :look: as I am new and learning too, just really wanted to say welcome!!!!

Welcome. I don't know what kind of advise I can give because I'm relaxed. In my years of trying to get my hair to grow I've found for me now that less is more. I used to be a serious PJ (product junky) I practically lived in Sally's and other beauty supply's.

Job loss made me a reformed PJ (hallelujah!). Now I only use a few staple products. I no longer put so many concoctions in my hair or do many things to it. So my advise would be to try and find a good product and routine and stick to it and don't do a lot of things to your hair. My personal favorite is coconut oil and aloe vera gel. Those two were the only things I was using in my hair for a while.