Neutralizing Shampoo how often?

GinnyP

I read on a thread last week where one person had experienced hair breakage in the back and on the sides, so did I after my last relaxer Feb. 5, 2004 someone on the board suggested she use a neutralizer shampoo after her relaxer. I am scheduled this Friday for a relaxer so I went out and purchased Isoplus N.S. suggested by the salesclerk she stated I should neutralize everytime I wash my hair, is this correct?
I am 4a-4b relaxed. I only paid $1.19 for this. Also what is a good moisturing neutralizing shampoo to use? Can you suggest what else I should do before and after my relaxer? I am still learning I have been taught alot from you guys I appreciate everything!! I have learned more from this board in 8 weeks than my whole entire life regarding my hair. Thanks again!!

If you are getting relaxed at the salon and are concerned that you are not being properly neutralized, then you need to bring this to the attention of your stylist. I would think that if you neutralize the next wash after your relaxer, the damage is already done. I have read that in order to neutralize properly, the neutralizing shampoo should be left in your hair for 10 minutes. I self relax, and I use Isoplus. I follow that with Suave Humectant Shampoo though, because I don't think a neutralizing shampoo will moisturize. HTH!

Brickhouse does this after her relaxers. You might want to send her a pm. I'm sure she could tell you more about it.
smile.gif

Thanks Thick&Beautiful and Erica, I will mention this to my stylist on Friday, I am learning to speak up now! I will pm Brickhouse today. Thanks again for everything!!

You know the funny thing is I wanted to give stylists the benefit of the doubt but my Dudley's relaxer specifically says to neutralize 3 times and leave the last one in for 5 minutes. So now I am very demanding with them. Good Luck.