Naturals who get weave/braids as a PS...Questions

htown2DAboot

I want to install a sew in or braids for my bday in a couple of weeks...but I don't want the braider or stylist to RIP OUT MY HAIR...I know I should at least straighten it a little before going...but i don't want to flat iron it...This is my first time putting any heat on my hair since like August 08...So how do I do it? Do I blow it out or what? and what's the true process?

I've never had to straighten my hair by flat ironing/pressing before getting it braided. The most I've ever done is blow dry it.

Now, I don't even have to do that. I just do a bunch of cornrows (kind of tight) on wet hair and let them dry overnight and that stretches it out enough for her to braid it up for the weave.

Have you ever gotten braids/weave before? If not I suggest you read lots of threads on it (Ediese has a good one). Anyway, some people are gentle and some people aren't. I let them know my expectations from the beginning and if they braid too tight then I don't let them continue.

Usually blow it out. I recently used the tension blow dry method and it worked well. (Another member made a video of it but I cannot recall who). Anyways you apply tension to each hair section then run the dryer over the "pulled" hair section. Less traumatic to your hair.

I'd say stretch as much as possible, use heat (lightly) if you feel the need.
Even after stretching my hair pretty well I've had braiders attempt to rip through my hair. I actually left an african braiding salon because she was being extra rough and then had the nerve to bust out a flat iron.

Do as much as possible to your own hair because some stylists act like they can not do a thing with your hair unless it is as straight as possible.