Natural or continue Relaxed?

Lusa

Hello Ladies,

I am still cutting my LHCF teeth here so please bear with me.

I am facing a little dilemma with my hair right, and I would appreciate all the help I can get from people that have gone through or are going through the same. My hair is currently relaxed, and my last retouch was October 16, 2005. I have been sporting a ‘halle’ cut for about two years now and recently decided to grow it out. To aid my retouch stretch, I have had my hair braided for about a month now. With my hair being so short in the back, the braids have not stayed in long, and I have had to re-braid them. In doing this, I have noticed that I kind of like the feel of my natural hair.

I haven’t had my hair natural since 2002 when I had to chop it off because of a bad bleach job. Anyways, as much as I may be toying with the idea of going natural, I can’t help but think how coarse my natural hair is. I have 4 a/b hair, and when I have had natural hair, it’s almost impossible to comb when it gets to a certain length. However, this was in my pre-LHCF days and things could be different this time around.

Part of the reason why I would like to go natural is I will save a lot of money on relaxers, and I want my hair to be healthy with as little chemical manipulation as possible. Also, wtih my hair being not so-long it might be easier to go natural now than later when my hair is much longer.

Anyways to cut a long story short, does anyone have any insight to make my journey a little less daunting?

Read, read, read, learn, learn, learn all you can!

There are products and techniques that allow one to manage their natural hair with ease....Blessing to you on your decision.