My water is hard!!! What should I do?

PrissiSippi

Simply Komplex
Ive been complaining lately that no conditioner works in my hair. No matter what I use, nothing can get the job done. I was thinking it was my technique or I needed my ends cut because everytime I wash it, my hair turns into a tangly mess.

My friend came over and washed her hair. She told me her hair felt exactly the same way! That made me do some investigating. My water is slightly yellow and has started making my skin extremely dry. I have hard water

What are some cheap fixes I can use to eliminate this problem in my shower (I live in an apartment). I'm a broke grad student so I thought about just using the water from my brita pitcher to wash my hair :look:. Will that work...for now lol. Buying distilled water will only last so long lol. That's expensive haha.

I'm looking for some economically priced showerheads and filters!!

I think I need more than a chelating shampoo though. Everytime I cowash or wash with this water...my hair is a tangled, hard, dry mess. I need a showerhead filter

I have the same problem! I can't even detangle my hair in the shower with conditioner.

Cut the shampoo. The harder your water, the harder your shampoo, & the harder it is to replace (remoisturize) the extreme stripping process you took your hair through.

I know you don't want to do the distilled water thing, but it has turly helped my hair turn around. I wash my hair once a week with 2 gallons of distilled water, during the week day I spritz my hair with distilled water daily to keep it moisturized. Distilled water cost .67cents where I live, it's a temporary fix until I purchase a shower filter.

Depending on where you live, you could try DI or RO water. RO is reverse osmosis water. I can't buy it in NJ but I can buy it in Phillie at Whole Food for .39 cents. All you need is your own container.