My Protective Style (Bunning) Isn't Protective

MissMeWithThatIsh

Hey all!

I've been wearing my hair in a bun for over 2 years now. At this point, my edges aren't see through, but they do appear as if they will get weak. I have a widows peak so parting down the middle is NOT the business for me, but the brushing side swoops I'm doing are wearing thin.

In addition, I think this is not helping my growth. I'm classicly stuck at shoulder length.

I almost never straighten my hair, and my regimen is washing 2-5x a week with CON green or co-washing. I set my hair with conditioner and tie it down.

What should I do? I want my hair to grow... and I don't want it down all the time, but the bunning is ridiculous!

I had to stop bunning too, it was breaking my hair. My hair is about 2 inches past SL and I wear twistouts. There's a pic. of my hair in my avi. With the twistout my hair stays off my shoulders and it's low maint. cause I wear it for a week before I wash and redo. My hair seems thicker and I'm having much less breakage.

I tried to look at your October hair album but the password didn't work.

There are different ways to create a bun. When I was starting out on this journey, if something didn't seem to be working for me (and I could tell after a month or so) then I'd try a different way until I could see progress. For me, regular, donut-looking buns was too much manipulation for my hair and it seemed I had to make a snug ponytail first, tighter than what I felt comfortable with.

I decided to wear loosely braided buns low at the nape and place a scrunchie over the bun so there was no tension at all but it was still in place. This continues to work very well. :yep: I don't wear this style as a protective style but because it looks good and I get compliments.

If whatever style you are wearing is not contributing to your hair's growth or health, I suggest to just change it until you find a style or styles that work for you. :)