My Hair Journey (Long)

gbaby

I have been lurking for about a month. I LOVE THIS WEBSITE! I spend every chance I get at work on it. I have learned so many things I did not know about hair since I always went to the salon. You guys are DA BOMB!:)

My hair is I would have to say 4a and has for the majority of my life has been at bra strap length. Except for the times when I was hard headed and put chemicals in it. What a disaster that always turned out to be. The worst and my last chemical nightmare was in 1994 I tried a product called “Rio Natural Hair Relaxer”. It relaxed my hair right off my head and burned my scalp. I finally learned my lesson.:(

I wore braids for 2 ½ years to grow my hair back and have not applied a chemical since. I have been pressing my hair for the last 10 years. I would wrap my hair every night or else it would be stiff in the morning. Since I live in the High Desert of California it gets extremely hot and I began having to run a hot comb through my hair every morning. I did not like doing this so I decided after researching on the internet to go “natural” this summer.

I ran across the Miss Jessie’s website and became intrigued with her products. I promptly ordered the Curly Pudding and the Buttercreme. The first time I used I the pudding I tried the shingle method. It gave me satisfactory results but my hair was not exactly like I wanted it to be. The second week I deep conditioned my hair with cholesterol conditioner under a heat cap and used more pudding than the first time and I just combed through my hair and did not shingle. I liked the results better. But I still have not gained complete satisfaction and the stuff is soooo pricey.