My Hair journey in Japan (Newbie)

yoleee

I am new to LHCF although I have been lurking for a little while. I guess I need to give a little background. I have had APL, BSL hair my entire adult life. I never touched my hair at home and always had amazing stylist.Almost 3 years ago my husband calls me at work to tell me we are moving to Japan. After I stopped crying, my first question was what about my hair? LOL. When we arrived here, I noticed none of the black ladies had hair past NL. They all kept saying, your hair is beautiful.... you just got here didnt you? My first visit to the very nice Japanese lady who does hair on base she said, I never seen hair so nice, I hope its still nice when you leave(as she is putting relaxer on). Fast foward 2 years later my hair is dry, crunchy, and breaking like crazy. I decide to get a sew in. I keep it in 3 months and washed once a week. When I got ready to take it out I ask the lady who did it(kitchen stylist) what to do. She said take it down, dont comb it and come get your relaxer(the same day). I cried as I left her house with hair so thin I could touch my scalp at barley SL. I came home that day and found LHCF and have been addicted. I have not had a relaxer since that one 8 weeks ago. My question is how do you ladies stretch for long periods? We move back to the states in July and I would love to stretch until right before we leave. Sorry this so long, you needed all the info.

Welcome yolee :wave: A lot of us have hair horror stories but you know what? We stay the course and grow our hair back better and healthier than ever.

I'm natchal and haven't been relaxed or texlaxed in while but when i was texlaxed i transitioned for over a year. Cowashing (conditioner washing) has been a godsend since day one of my journey here. Also easing up on the heat, deep conditioning (when i'm not lazy) and learning what MY hair likes.