Ministry of Helps Staff -- Are They Salaried or Volunteers in Your Church?

Shimmie

"God is the Only Truth -- Period"
Staff member
A co-workder friend and I were just talking about our weekend and in the course of talking about Sunday School, he shared that they pay the Sunday School staff a salary to teach the children.

I was surprised -- somewhat -- because I've always experienced any area of the Ministry of Helps as a volunteer position.

Although, I have a degree in teaching, I taught Sunday School for over 12 years and never expected a salary nor even wanted one. I love teaching children.

I've been 'associated' with many, many, many churches and to my knowledge, their Ministry of Helps has always been volunteered. From Cleaning, to Greeting, Ushering, Parking Attendants, Preparing the Sacraments, etc.

Does anyone receive a salary for the work they do in Ministry? I'm not speaking of administrative postitions which require daily work or a regular job. But during Church Services or special events?

Thanks for sharing. :giveheart:

At my last church, the choir director also known as the music minister receives a salary; as well as those who play instruments. I was surprised when I first heard about this but it seems to be the norm now in the modern day church.

However, I've never heard of Sunday school teachers getting paid. That's news to me.....

At my last church, the choir director also known as the music minister receives a salary; as well as those who play instruments. I was surprised when I first heard about this but it seems to be the norm now in the modern day church.

However, I've never heard of Sunday school teachers getting paid. That's news to me.....
Thanks Pink Pebbles ;)

In my first Church, the members of our band and the Choir director received a financial compensation, because they traveled a lot for the Ministry and it was to help defray the traveling expenses they incurred.