Maxiglide Users, can you help me? Pweety pwease?

twinkletoes17

Enter :)

So, I just bought a Maxiglide from a fellow cousin of Niko's. I've never used a flat iron like it before. It looks different. It has different features. I've used only four kinds of flat irons on my hair: Revlon (2"), Conair (1"), CHI (1"), and FHI (1").

I'm not scared :lachen::lachen::lachen: :blush: I am a little intimidated, however. I've already noticed that the Maxiglide is much heavier and is no ordinary flat iron. It has super powers. I love my natural new growth. I don't want to use too much heat and end up with heat-damaged new growth :( Not to talk of my fragile relaxed length. I'm a relaxed head who has been transitioning for 6.5 months. I'm sure I should not be using the comb/teeth attachment. I wouldn't want them to rip my fragile relaxed hair, particularly at the demarcation line. My ng is 4a I believe. It's course and has a curl pattern, hence not a 3c.

My questions are: What advice could you give? Should I use steam (does it make your hair frizzy/revert)? How hot does the iron get? Which settings do you use? Are there any DONT'S I should be aware about?

I used my FHI at 360F I believe. With heat protectant and some deep conditioning afterwards, my hair has always been fine afterwards. Just an FYI.

I looked for some other threads but didn't find everything I was looking for. Do feel free to post links though, maybe I missed them :)

TIA!

I must say..when i was natural and i tested a lil peice with my maxi some yrs ago..it never reverted back...so I would be verrry careful..but since i am no longer natural, maye someone else will be ale to chime in with more knowledge as too how hi your should put your heat settings..
also, I have never used the teeth..only the flat plates..just a prefrence..
HTH