Managing moisture in desert heat - need help

Pandora1975

Next month I am going to visit my sister in New Mexico. I am a Chicago girl and I am just learning to deal with my natural hair in the ever changing climate here. I can't even begin to deal with desert air. I need a good moisturizer I'm guessing without humectants. Should I treat it like Chicago winters? I can't spend a lot- plane tickets were high enough. Should I go creamy or spritz? Can I make it myself, and if so- will airport security flag me as dangerous for carrying it (lol) ?

Any help is appreciated. Thank you!

Last edited:
I'm not from the desert, but when I went to Nevada, I loaded my hair in Organix conditioner everyday, and wet my hair daily. It would still feel a bit parched by the end of the day, but it helped a bit. I don't know if there are humectants or not in them :perplexed

I would use a spritz whenever the hair starts to feel really dry. since this is the desert you're talking about this may be very often so maybe wet bunning with a conditioner and oil.

Thank you. I don't have enough hair for wet bunning (at least not loosely enough to not get headaches), but I guess for the days we won't be at her house, a spritz would be easier to apply. I'm still holding out for ideas, but I will check out the Organix ingredients next time I'm at the store.

I have not lived in that type of climate yet ( I've only been in hot humid areas) but I would get the thickest, heaviest moisturizer I could find and then seal it. Like Shea butter with avocado or coconut oil. I'm not sure though. Oh, and def. a lot of moisturizing deep conditioning.

What part of NM are you going to? Not all of NM is hot desert this time of year, it's really cool and nice.