Lye Relaxers

toni44

Ladies I want to try a Lye relaxer, never used one , does anybody know if Affirm is a good ? and if not please suggest one better.....im looking for something that does not dry out my hair.

Currently using Profectiv no-lye

i don't know if affirm is good as i've never used it before... but i switched from optimum no-lye to silk elements lye(reg) about 1 1/2 yrs ago and i love it... believe it or not it's gentler on my hair... it does not get my hair bone straight, i still have wave a pattern left... i thought it would be just as strong or stronger than my no-lye, nope... so i'm unofficially texlaxed...

I've used affirm mild and regular lye and I believe it's a good relaxer. I switched from a no lye, so I've only used the affirm 3 times but I like it.

I've used Affirm before and it was decent, but I switched to Silk Elements and haven't gone back. It leaves my hair very smooth, while still maintaining body. I don't think it does a very good job of getting hair bone straight, but I aim for being slightly underprocessed anyway.

If I get another relaxer, I was going to consider using Linange Shea Butter Relaxer. I've heard great things about it as well.

I'm texlaxed and using profectiv right now, but I plan to switch to MBB this year. I'm on a four month stretch so my next touch up is in April. I'll let you know how it went.

I'm texlaxed and using profectiv right now, but I plan to switch to MBB this year. I'm on a four month stretch so my next touch up is in April. I'll let you know how it went.

Yes, Im going to buy the Mizani Butter Blends as well, a friend of mine said the Affirm is a bit strong , even the gentle version , and she lost some of her hair . I know it can be due lack of care, but i'll steer clear of it . :yep:

Thanks OP for posting I am looking for a lye relaxer as well. I must step it up, pretty soon I will be 5 months post and it is time to relax.

Is anyone still using Alter Ego linange relaxer?