kinky twists: a few questions

gcchick_07

hey all

i'm a new member (as of 10 mins ago) and i've been toying with the idea of putting in my own twists from all the easy how to yotube instructional videos.

but i have a few burning questions from you knowledgeable ladies:

1. what kind of hair is the best for this? i keep seeing marley braid (i guess brand isn't important since many brands have a "marley" version)
2. what products/tips do you suggest for maintaining them?
3. would you suggest twisting to start or braiding to start?
4. do i need to do a protein treatment before i put them in?

i did do a search (i've seen some verbally lashed for not) but all those threads seem to be a bit old, some of the newest being 2008. i just know i'm a poor college student who would love the advice. :wave:

Hi, Welcome to LHCF. I'm sure you will enjoy it here.

This is my Kinky twist tutorial
http://www.youtube.com/user/ladyair22#p/a/u/1/hA5EC_5XPEU
And this is the album where I documented installing them.
http://public.fotki.com/Mooks-hair/2009-photos-almost--1/2009-photos-almost-1/img3458.html#media

1. what kind of hair is the best for this? i keep seeing marley braid (i guess brand isn't important since many brands have a "marley" version)
I used Bobbi Boss Jamaica Braid Hair. (I won't use this kind again though because the pre divided strands have more hair in them than I would like. Also I'd like to find a brand that is a little softer. This kind was very coarse.
2. what products/tips do you suggest for maintaining them?
African Royale Braid spray (Not African Pride)
And Infusium diluted with water. Also, once a week, you can use a warm wet wash cloth to gently clean your scalp. This helps prevent buildup and it also stimulates the folicles. (scalp massages are always good.

3. would you suggest twisting to start or braiding to start?
I twisted to start...that is what my tutorial shows.
4. do i need to do a protein treatment before i put them in?