just a little something about hair and protein

580girl

Hi, I am currently in nursing school, and rght now I am studying the Integumentary sytem which is basically, Skin, Hair and Nails.

This is just something I wanted to share out of my book Med Terminology about hair, some of you prob already know this so feel free to help me out.

The Hair

Hair fibers are rod-like structures composed of tightly fused, dead protein cells filled with hard keratin, which is a fibrous, water repellent protein. The darkness and color of the hair is determined by the amount and type of melanin produced by the melanocytes that surround the core of the hair shaft.

Hair follicles are the the sacs that hold the root of the hair fibers. The shape of the follicle determines whether the hair is straight or curly.

Although hair is dead tissue, it appears to grow because the cells at the base of the follicle divide rapidly and push the old cells upward.

The body cannot store protein so it has to release it, which is released through the hair which is composed of dead protein and causes the hair to grow.

So that would make me think that protein is really an important factor, because the more protein that you put into your system, the body will have to release it.
I don't know maybe some of you can help me out with this, but I would think some of this would be true for hair growth.

Yep, protein is a very important factor in the production of healthy and strong hair, skin, and nails :yep:. Ever since I started drinking my protein shakes religiously I've noticed my nails have gotten much stronger, my skin is clearer and looks brighter, and my hair seems to be growing at a good rate.

Yep, protein is a very important factor in the production of healthy and strong hair, skin, and nails :yep:. Ever since I started drinking my protein shakes religiously I've noticed my nails have gotten much stronger, my skin is clearer and looks brighter, and my hair seems to be growing at a good rate.