itchy scalp with no dandruff means...???

Sherbetcane

Lately my scalp itches soo bad i totally have to use a brush to scratch my scalp every morning during co washing. and it doesnt even help. i have no dandruff so i dont know what could be the cause. i am newly natural. Anyone having the same problem and how did u treat it??

I am still new to the thread and I got the idea of cowashing my hair from here a month or so back. I understand that you all cowash and leave the conditioner product in your hair. Your scalp's pores may be clogged with the cowash.

I cowash a little differently- So basically I use the conditioner like this:

Put the conditioner in my hair for 50-11 hours (I learned 50-11 from the dumb questions topic:grin:) (I make my own conditioner with certain oils and moisturizers)

Rinse the conditioner out really well out of my hair.

I would usually get an itchy sensation (gross, I know:perplexed), if I did not wash the conditioner out well enough.

I then sit under the dryer (low heat) and presto. I have very short hair (mid ear length- MEL :rolleyes:) So I flat iron once a week to make sure I don't look like a new cast member of Color Purple.

Last edited:
Hey there - if your scalp isn't flaking or showing any signs of irritation, it may just be growth! My sister says after using her oil mix she has an itch-fest a couple days later. Have you started using anything topically to stimulate your scalp? This sensation could just be your follicles showing you they're active.

Is the cowashing helping your moisturising issues now BTW?

Last edited:
I was always told if your scalp is itching like crazy it meant hair growth. Rapid Hair Growth.

so what does 50-11 mean..?then probably i have to cut down on co washing or maybe i just dont wash out the conditioner well enough? am sure i do..or.