Is my hair hopeless?

rhannie8

Okay, I've been a lurker on here for a long time...and now I REALLY need some help. I miss my hair. I don't know what's wrong with it, but it just seems like I can't get it to grow!

I used to have long, thick hair...the kind where folks try to slyly feel your scalp to check for tracks. But after I went to college, it all went downhill. It might have been the beginning of flat ironing and wrapping. I'd never done either before. Or maybe it was just not caring for my hair correctly in general. After I graduated, I noticed that my hair was thinner than I liked. No matter what I try, it's like I can't get it back to where it was.

I haven't had a relaxer since January 2010. I stopped after I went to a salon in February, and while washing my hair, the stylist asked if I was natural. When I told her I'd just been relaxed a couple of weeks prior, she looked at me crazy and told me that I might as well not get a relaxer, because my hair wasn't taking it at all. It waved up like it had never been straightened. My mom swears not having my hair relaxed is the reason why my hair is thinning. (She hates that I have given up relaxers.) Instead of getting longer, it seems like my hair is actually getting SHORTER. How is that possible?!

I've tried microbraids. After I had them taken out, my hair seemed MUCH shorter than when they'd gone in. You cannot imagine my heartbreak! I tried a sew-in. Again, after having it taken out recently, my hair seems thinner and shorter! I don't have a good picture of my hair (because I hate taking picture with my hair this thin), but I do have a recent silly pic of me and my crazy dog, where you can see my hair (excuse the facial expression). I also have a pic where you can kinda see what my hair USED to look like, around 2006.