Is high porosity the reason my hair reacts badly to 85-90% of the conditoners i use?

equestrian

The porosity thing is something I've been reading about recently. so apparently your hair is able to soak up a ton of moisture, but it ends up evaporating just as easily once your hair dries. Is that the reason so many shampoos and conditioners gives my hair amazing slip and moisture in the shower, fast forward 5 hours and it's a dull, rough mess? :nono:

Re: Is high porosity the reason my hair reacts badly to 85-90% of the conditoners i u

Perhaps. I am not hair expert. I am a relative newb, so take what I say with a grain of salt ;)

I find, however, that my the issues of dullness and dryness are fixed by sealing in the moisturizer if you KWIM..

I usually co-wash with Suave (which for my hair is mediocre but leaps and bounds away from shampoo unless I need to clarify because I've become a product junkie) and apply my better conditioner as a leave in. Then I go about styling which has recently been just wash and go. I either use a custard or gel over that to define curls.. and if I don't feel like doing that I skip that step and go straight for either some pomade or CFCG...

For me, sealing all of that with some kind of oil is an important step that seems to counteract the loss of moisture. Of course, if I don't seal I usually will have a spray bottle with just water that I spritz on throughout the day. HTHs. :)

Re: Is high porosity the reason my hair reacts badly to 85-90% of the conditoners i u

I'm wondering the same thing, but my problem is a little different.

Most conditioners don't work on my hair. The instant softness and slip that people talk about usually evades me. After my hair dries then I feel the softness and the shine, but the softness and shine when the condition is in or as I'm rollersetting it? Nope :(
Actually sometimes I get softness, but not so soft that tangles disappear.