Ion clarifying shampoo as a...

kittykhat

Chelator? My friend just got her hair relaxed last saturday and she wants to know if this would work as a chelator. She uses ORS no lye. The Ion clarifying shampoo has disodium EDTA. It also says that it removes water deposits and build up. We got it at sallys. Would this work guys? If so,she also wants to know when after a fresh relaxer can she use this because her hair is feeling dry at the back but she doesn't want her hair to revert. Last question she wants to ask, lol, is it okay for her to keep using no lye if she chelates her hair. ORS lye gets her hair so straight the way she likes it. Thanks so much guys for helping me with my million and one questions. :D

I'm no expert on chelating, but I use the Ion clarifying shampoo to clarify. Your friend sounds a bit confused as to what clarifying and chelating does to your hair. Here is a link to an article which explains the difference:
http://www.naturalreign.info/2009/01/clarifying-your-hair.html

The Ion shampoo will not chelate her hair b/c it is a clarifier. Chelating and clarifying will NOT cause her hair to revert. Relaxing hair is a chemical process that permanently changes the hair!! The only way to get rid of relaxer is to cut the hair. Her hair will be dry after chelating and/or clarifying, but the relaxer is still there!

Also, her best bet would have been to clarify before getting a relaxer, but clarifying will not affect her relaxer after the fact. I don't know of any reason why she can't clarify now...ladies chime in if you know of a reason not to.

I can't answer the lye vs no lye question....but once your friend chelates, she shouldn't need to continue chelating her hair! Read the article and research chelating...most of the time clarifying is enough and chelating should be done rarely.

What's your confusion? Well, what are you trying to do with your hair. A clarifier does remove water build up(minerals, nickel, and other deposits from water) fro