I'm Feeling Really Unappreciated!

cocoberry10

I also posted this in Off-Topic, but I always like a response from my Christian ladies. I never like to bring negativity, but I have to.

Not to polk fun at the song with the same title, but lately, I’ve been feeling really unappreciated at my job and by some of the people in my life. I’ll break it down by work and life.

Work: I hate my job. I feel like I’m invisible here. Many of the people are cool, but I feel like I don’t “fit in” with the whole “old boys network.” I am a lawyer at a law firm, and this is a common complaint among Black women (and women of color, and actually all women). I’ve been looking for another job, and I feel like God is pulling me in another direction anyway, so I’m just going to go with Him. Also, I feel like I’m cut out of a lot of the “social” extras (some of the lunches between the “boys” and other activities). I go when invited and I often initiate socializing. Some of the younger guys are cool, but they don’t have the “clout,” and one of them seemed interested in me, but I’m seeing someone, so that’s out anyway. I’m not sure if this is happening b/c I’m black, a woman, both, or for some other reason. I know that women at law firms usually aren’t invited to the beer and pizza and baseball game activies. I feel like I’m not being taken seriously. And I believe I’m confident and project this, so I’m not sure what the issue is. Also, I wanted to switch to a different department, and they said if an opening became available. Well, they just went and hired someone else in that department. I am just frustrated. I literally cried today (I had to shut my door).