I'm a newbie

Kikootie

I've been lurking around for 2 or 3 weeks scoping things out and absorbing all of you guy's knowledge. I wore my hair pressed and flat ironed up until age 27 and then decided to get a texturizer. Afterall Cathy Howse says you can have manageble long hair that grows even though it is chemically treated. Well I've been having trouble. I was seriously contemplating going natural again do to hair breakage when I stumbled upon this site. So many of you with relaxers and texturizers have hair that is so long. So I said what the hay, if they can do it so can I. I just gotta find out how they do it. So here I am.

Hey Kil :wave: welcome :)

So, tell us a little about your hair:

How often do you relax?
Lye or no-lye?
Color treated?
What products do you use?
What's your diet like?

Let's start with that, to help you get your hair in shape.

webby said:
Hey Kil :wave: welcome :)

So, tell us a little about your hair:

How often do you relax?
Lye or no-lye?
Color treated?
What products do you use?
What's your diet like?

Let's start with that, to help you get your hair in shape.
hggjhello

Last Relaxed for Easter

In all honesty I do not know if there is Lye or not. My hair dresser used Motions short hair texturizer.

Not color treated.

I was usiing UBH conditioner, Dew, and cream moisturizer. Now I have switched to NTM since reading a post by Sylver2 2-3 wks ago

Diet is pretty good. I also try to take a daily mulivitamin

Last edited:
Kikootie said:
hggjhello

Last Relaxed for Easter

In all honesty I do not know if there is Lye or not. My hair dresser used Motions short hair texturizer.

Not color treated.

I was usiing UBH conditioner, Dew, and cream moisturizer. Now I have switched to NTM since reading a post by Sylver2 2-3 wks ago

I'm not sure about motions (someone else will probably fill you in on that).

Recommendation #1 - keep a journal. Make sure you write down when you get your relaxer and don't get another one for at least 8 weeks.