I'm a newbie... Please offer advice.

Trinigirl9

I\'m a newbie... Please offer advice.

I am becoming more and more frustrated with my hair. It seems no matter what I do I'm not retaining any length. Currently, my hair is cut into a bob (approximately 6" in the back and sides and bangs about 5")and I am trying to grow it to collarbone length. My weekly regime is as follows any advice you ladies can offer is well appreciated . I am at a point that I'm thinking about cutting all my hair off.

-Hairtype 3c/4a- not too sure on this
-pre treatment with olive oil
-shampoo with LaFier or KeraCare Moisturizing shampoo
-condition with any of the following...KeraCare Humecto, Kenra Emollient, Elucence or Honey & Almond by Capilo conditioner under the hair dryer for about 30-45 minutes
-i usually dont use a leave-in it makes my rollersets too soft
-protein treatments as needed usually with aphogee
-moisturize hair with elasta qp mango butter
-use hot six oil as needed
-i rollerset with lottabody setting lotion (diluted w/water)
-sit under dryer for 45 min- 1hour

-relax with optima care relaxer every 7-8 weeks
-trim as needed.
- i try not to use the curling irons often but probably use like twice a month.

Please help! I will post pics as soon as I figure out how to do so.

Re: I\'m a newbie... Please offer advice.

Welcome Trinigirl!

I know how terrible it is to be frustrated with your hair. Your regimen looks very complete, the only thing I notice off the bat is that it doesn't seem like you wet your hair much. Would you be able to incorporate a couple of conditioner washes or even rinses throughout the week?

Thanks for replying. I tried the daily conditioner washes it seemed to make my hair too soft and it would end up breaking off???

Oh and welcome to the board.
wave.gif

The vaseline ends sounds like a good idea. I will give this a try. Thanks DahomeyAmazon!

Welcome
wave.gif