I have never in my life had my hair straightened. cant afford a salon, help?

curlytwirly06

So I want to straighten my hair. I have been natural all my life and worn my hair curly. I have never had it straight before. I am also -within the last 5 years- learning how to fully take care of it. I have tried methods of stretching like curlformers ( utter fail), rollerset with jumbo rollers (also fail). It will not be something I will do but maybe once or twice a year. I just want to length check and not bone straight but semi-straight hair. I have no idea where to start in the abyss of what type of tools to use (minimal to no heat would be preferred but I am not against heat use), something called heat protectants, what stylers to use etc. I have watched many youtube videos but I am still lost. I am also terrified of heat damage. I am a college student with not much spending cash. If you can recommend products, tools, methods, anything I would be so thankful. Also I would also like to note that I have very fine thin hair curlformers, rollers , permrods always come out thin and sticky looking. That probably has more to do with me though...

Pic for reference.

Attachments

• IMG_0561.JPG
    IMG_0561.JPG
    87.8 KB · Views: 170
  • IMG_0585.JPG
    IMG_0585.JPG
    108.7 KB · Views: 169
Last edited:
If you have fine hair it usually looks sticky and thin when straightened from what I've seen.
As far as getting it straight does your hair stretch easily? If so a wet wrap may work. Where you just wrap your soaking wet hair into a doobie with some setting foam or whatever and if you want some style you can pin curl the straightened hair. I did a wet set once because it is some work but my hair was very straight.