How many twists do you do for a twist out?

Millahdoowop

Does it matter the how many you do according to the length of your hair? I'm going to do some twists tonite for a twist out for school tomorrow, but it's my first time. I tried a braid out before and it was absolutely horrible (I didn't even take any pictures). The only thing I have mastered is a bantu knot out (is that even a phrase?) for my hair, but I don't want to do that for tomorrow. I can't cornrow to save my life, so I know most definitely I can't do flat twists. Anywho, I would like to know how many people do for a defined texture.

Depends on how 'tight' and defined you want your hair.

Maybe do a few 'test' twists. Mist your hair w/ water (etc) and do a few smaller and a few larger--they will dry pretty fast and you will have an idea of how large to do them.

Good luck!

I think it depends on your lenghth - longer hair could do less.

I have all natural hair about 6-7 inches. For a twist out, I need to put in at leat 25 twists for nice outcome. I think the best looking sets come by twisting the hair and then putting the twist in to bantu knots (like you're already doing). You get more "crinkcly curls" that way and it lasts longer.

Using just twists, I get better results when I have twists in for at least 2 days.

Ohhh okay, I have no idea how many inches my hair is but there is this layer effect going on, so I may try something around the 25 ballpark. Thanks so much, I hope it comes out well and if it doesn't I'll still post pics. :lol:

It depends what look you're going for. The less twists you have, the chunkier the twist out will be. The more twists you have the more defined it will be.