How Do You Prevent Poufy Hair When Wrapping?

Isis

I'm still learning how to wrap my hair after airdrying in rollers. Is it best to use bobby pins or will Good Hair Day pins or even metal pins (for rollers)work? My challenge is getting my hair wrapped tight enough. It usually gets poufy somewhere in the process. I don't want to damage my hair with any hair pins either. Also, when you tie up the wrapped hair with a satin scarf how do you tie it so the hair stays pressed against the head and doesn't get squeezed into a pouf?

I had the same problem, because i haven't quite gotten this at home wrapping and air drying thing down to a science. BUT I thought it was the products that I was using, then I think I realized it was the way and care that I was rolling my hair with. I was so SLOW with my rolling that I wasn't been ever so carefull. The last time I wrapped it turned out really good, but then again I was a lot more carefull because I had somewhere to be the next day. Just a hint from someone who had the same problem.

i dont use any pins when i wrap my hair but when i do it i use a fine tooth comb so it can stay wrapped tight. dont know if that makes sense lol. and i cover my head with a du rag(sp) then wrap a scarf around it so it doesnt fall off during the night. this keeps my wrap in place and secure.

Thank you Bree and StarQuality. So Bree, you use no pins at all? How does it stay in place so you can cover your head with your scarves?

[ QUOTE ]
Isis said:
Thank you Bree and StarQuality. So Bree, you use no pins at all? How does it stay in place so you can cover your head with your scarves?

[/ QUOTE ]

When I was relaxed Isis I used to put on two scarves. First I put on my silk scarf and then a cotton one tied loosely over the silk one. When I woke up I took a hot steamy shower with the scarves(tightened the cotton one) and when I got out my hair was perfect. I never used the pins though because my hair was in a short shoulder length bob.